Stretching an entire block between Front and Water Streets, The Old Wilmington City Market is a one-story brick and stucco building featuring 14-foot ceilings and a glass skylight running the entire length of the structure.
Categorized by a reporter as “one of the handsomest markets in the South” in 1883 the Old Wilmington City Market at 119 South Water Street and
120-124 South Front Street was originally constructed in 1879. Once boasting a striking 3-storey façade with twin towers framing a City Market bell, the building was considered one of the architectural hallmarks of downtown Wilmington. It was an active City Market for 40 years, and then served a variety of purposes as a city auditorium and intermittent produce market until 1960. It remains the only historic structure in Wilmington North Carolina which stretches from Front Street all the way to Water Street.
Having sat relatively vacant for more than 30 years, the City Market under new ownership--The Riverside Partnership of Wilmington, re-opened its doors in March 1990. This historic gem now houses a mélange of permanent retail specialty shops and art galleries.